What people have to say about the Jukejoint Handmedowns.

It was great to have you at Buttermilk for the Folk School this year. Folks seemed to love your workshop - I am sad I missed it! We hope you will be back with us and the Folk School next year. Best Wishes, Christy!
     - Christyl Burnett, Buttermilk Jamboree Folk School

Sixteen songs about death don't make a CD bleak and depressing. In the hands of this four-piece, country-hued quartet, it's a delight. (entire feature article on Local Spins)
     - John Sinkevics, "Local Spins", Grand Rapids MI

Can't say enough about how perfect you were for our reception ... exactly what we wanted! And you nailed the Avett Brothers cover for our first dance. All our guests wanted to know how we found you. Thank you so much!
     - Stephanie Haag Hughes, Grand Rapids MI

Thank you again for playing at Andie's Open House. You guys were the highlight of the party. I have had so many friends tell me how much they enjoyed your music and want to plan trips to GR to see you guys play. It meant a lot to us that you did that.
     - Margo & John Barber, Lansing MI

I can't get enough of this fine CD. All of the songs are written by band members. The songs are so memorable ... stuck in my music head when I'm not even listening. My 11 year old musical grandson heard it for the first time today and was singing along by the 2nd time I played it for him. I like so many of the songs, I can't pick one favorite. I would say 'Cold Cold Steel', 'When I Die' and 'Call My Name' ...
     - Diane Brooks, Amazon CD Review of "Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife"

With multiple vocalists, simple rhythms, and classic, down-home roots country music, the Jukejoint Handmedowns bring you to a serene and lax mood. On 'Everything But the Squeal', they showcase their melancholy songwriting abilities with a lengthy sixteen tracks of straight western country music. It does not get much more roots than that. Bravo to the orthodox songwriting styling; it is truly a trip to the west. The fellows in Jukejoint Handmedowns are a well-seasoned group that is comfortable in their dynamic. If you are looking for some throwbafck country styling, these boys will not let you down.
     - Logan Baily, 'Listen to the Mitten' review

The best band you never heard.
     - Dave Eder, former owner of 'Jukes', Grand Rapids MI

Channeling  all sorts of musical styles through their four-piece country/bluegrass instrumentation, these fine players have taken some of the best elements of the past 20 years of revival-pop music and made a very friendly collection of songs which veer away slightly from the usual Americana-style singer/songwriter stuff and get nearer to old-time country music, tin-pan alley, and dare I say it, sedately Barenaked Ladies-style jazz-influenced acoustic guitar rock. The recording itself is very smooth and intimate, as if the musicians were standing in your living room. Bring your mandolin and road trip down to jukejointhandmedowns.com to check it out.
     - R.C., Recoil Magazine

The Jukejoint Handmedowns, 6:45 pm Saturday, Fountain Stage: Intriguingly, it is described as 'big country country & western' music. But it is also wildly entertaining retro-country stuff as their hook-filled debut album, "Everything But the Squeal" proves.
     - John Sinkevics, "Local Spins", Grand Rapids MI

Having had the extreme pleasure of seeing the Jukejoint Handmedowns many times in a variety of live venues, I have come to deeply appreciate not only their talent and skilled musicianship, but also their impressive song-writing abilities (both Tim and Nate) and the great sense of fun that they bring to their music and their performances. Those of us who know them well are thrilled to have an 'official' recording to savor and share with others. Those of you who are reading this and may not know them ... make the effort to; buy this CD, take your shoes off, sit back and smile. If you can catch them performing live, do that too. Your universe will be better for it all.
     -G.M. 'Bud' Thompson, Amazon Review

Living in Nashville and hearing all the BS commercial marketed country music, it is sure refreshing to finally hear a band that has gone back to the roots! Love the simplicity and the steel guitar! Are you boys out of Texas?
     -Rods of Cane, iTunes Review

Great sounding country folksy style. I happened across their first effort and have been in love with the music from day one.
     - Tony Marsh, Amazon Review


... NEWS RELEASE - SEPTEMBER 2017 ...
... FOURTH ALBUM 'CALL OF THE WILD: DISPATCHES FROM THE GREAT LAKES STATE' RELEASED ...

The Jukejoint Handmedowns’ follow up to their award-winning third album “Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife,” takes on a decidedly brighter topic: their home state of Michigan. On their newest record, “Call of the Wild,” the boys celebrate everything Michigan, from its natural beauty (’The Water’, ‘Great Lakes State of Mind’), local industry (’Buicks Chevys & Oldsmobiles’, ‘Beer City USA’), to its generous bottle return policy (’Aluminum Blues’).

To honor the Mitten State’s rich musical legacy, the Jukejoint Handmedowns supplemented their American Roots sound with hints of the sweet horns and harmonies of Motown, the gritty garage sound of Ann Arbor and Detroit, and polka from the halls of the west side of Grand Rapids.

While hardly a ‘rose colored glasses’ tribute, the album features the band’s trademark tongue-in-cheek humor and paints the Great Lakes State with an affectionate but fine-tipped brush, that will bring a smile of recognition to anyone who has ever held up the palm of their hand to show where their ‘home town’ is located.

Besides being available at our live shows, the album is also available as a digital download on the usual online outlets (CDBaby, iTunes, Amazon, etc) and will soon likely be available at local retailers. You can also purchase online and we will ship the disc to you.
... NEWS RELEASE - JULY 2017 ....
... NEW ALBUM NEARLY FINISHED RECORDING ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns have been hard at work on their 4th CD, a collection of 'Michigan Themed' material entitled "Call of the Wild: Dispatches from the Great Lakes State" and as of Mid-July they are just a little bit behind schedule, but putting the finishing touches on the recordings and hope to have it back from the printers sometime in August or September for an early fall release. We'll likely be planning some sort of 'CD Release Party' and there are new tee shirt designs being planned to coordinate with the release, so stay tuned for further developments. It won't be long now!
... NEWS RELEASE - FEBRUARY 2017 ...
... WORK STARTED ON NEW JJHD ALBUM ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns have begun recording their 4th CD this month, and hope to have it ready for release by early Summer of 2017. This one is a collection of 'Michigan Themed' songs (many of which we've already begun test driving at recent shows, like 'Mystery Spot' and 'Beer City'), and we are eager to share them with y'all. Stay tuned for more updates!
... NEWS RELEASE - JANUARY 2016 ...
... CRAIG VAN OTTEREN WHEATLAND WASHBOARD PROJECT HITS THE BIG TIME ...
We're awful proud of our boy Craig Van Otteren, whose Wheatland Kids Hill "Tin Can Washboard" project from 2014 was made mention of in the book "Junkyard Jam Band" (along with his partner in engineering Jim Jett). You can pick up the book at Amazon by following this link.
... NEWS RELEASE - FEBRUARY 2016 ...
... WYCE FM 'JAMMIE AWARD WINNERS' ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns can now add 'Jammie Award Winning Band' to their resume. They picked up the WYCE "Traditions" Jammie Award on February 19th at the Intersection in Grand Rapids MI for their 2015 release "Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife". Thanks to the staff and programmers at WYCE, to all our fellow nominees, and a huge thanks to John Sinkevics from 'Local Spins' for giving the album all the attention and kind words at the time of its release. The competition was very stiff this year, and we are honored just to have been included with all the fantastic local music talent in the West Michigan area.
... NEWS RELEASE - JANUARY 2016 ...
... WYCE JAMMIE NOMINATIONS FOR 'DEATH, MURDER & THE AFTERLIFE' ...
The CD 'Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife' has been nominated for 4 WYCE 'Jammie Awards'. The nominations are for 'Best Album of the Year', 'Traditions Album of the Year', 'Best Song (Nathan James for 'Deathbed Conversion'), and 'Best Engineering' (Tim Foley). In addition, the band has been asked to perform at this year's awards ceremony, and we'll be playing a short set at the beginning of the show at 5:30 on the Front Stage. Come on down and cheer the boys on as they rub shoulders with the cream of Grand Rapids' local musical talent. (also scheduled to perform are Big Dudee Roo, Bigfoot Buffalo, The Bootstrap Boys, Brother Adams, Dave Hardin, Fable the Poet, Greg Nagy, Jesse Ray and the Carolina Catfish, Joe Hertler and the Rainbow Seekers, Lady Ace Boogie, The Legal Immigrants, The Lippies, Megan Dooley, Olivia Mainville and the Aquatic Troupe, Rick Chyme and the Nixon, The Sailor Kicks, Scott Pellegram Trio, Shane Tripp, The Soul Syndicate, Tunde Olaniran, Ty Beat, Vox Vidorra, The Waxies and Ralston Bowles. Should be a great show!)
... NEWS RELEASE - JULY 2015 ...
... 'LOCAL SPINS' RADIO INTERVIEW AND PERFORMANCE ...
The Jukejoint boys were invited down to the WYCE Studios on July 3rd to talk about their new album "Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife" on John Sinkevics' "Local Spins" weekly show, where they shared a segment with the 'Legal Immigrants', and sang two songs: "Limbo" and "When I Die". The feature was archived and can be listened to in its entirety at this link. The boys also served as a last minute substitute on John's Wednesday AM 1340 'Local Spins' broadcast on July 8th, where they were joined by guest artist Cyndi Betts who played on four songs on the new CD. We performed our song "Call My Name" on this broadcast. John did a very nice story about the band, the new album and includes some video footage and a podcast from the July 8th broadcast. Link Here.

... NEWS RELEASE - JUNE 2015 ...
... NEW CD IS ONLY WEEKS AWAY ...
The Third CD from the Jukejoint Handmedowns, "Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife" has finished recording, mixing and mastering and is on route to the manufacturer. We hope to have this exciting new collection of songs available for purchase by late June, early July.

...NEWS RELEASE - MARCH 2015 ...
... RECORDING HAS BEGUN ON NEW CD ...
The Third CD from the Jukejoint Handmedowns, "Jukejoint Handmedowns Sing Songs of Death, Murder & the Afterlife" has begun the recording process in February, and things are coming together. We hope to have this baby finished up and released by Summer of 2015. Check back here for updates.

... NEWS RELEASE - JANUARY 2014 ...
... 'OH ME OH MY!' JAMMIE NOMINATIONS ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns 2013 CD release 'Oh Me Oh My!' has been nominated for three WYCE Jammie Awards. The nominations are for "Best Americana Album", "Album of the Year" and "Best Production/Engineering".

... NEWS RELEASE - NOVEMBER 2013 ...
... BEER CITY USA FREE DOWNLOAD ...
In the spring of 2013, the Jukejoint fellers wrote a song tribute to their home town of Grand Rapids, and posted a video of the band performing the song on YouTube , as the city was in contention for the title of 'Beer City USA'. We are certain that the 7 or 8 additional votes that our video inspired were the main reason that Grand Rapids secured the title by a landslide. As a special gift to our fans, we offer this FREE DOWNLOAD of the song as a bonus track off our 'Oh Me Oh My' CD Release.
... NEWS RELEASE - AUGUST 2013 ...
... NEW CD RELEASE - "OH ME OH MY!" ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns are pleased to announce that their 2nd CD has been released and is currently available for purchase at our live shows and is additionally available at CDBaby.com, and on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, eMusic or from our own Merchanise shop. The CD contains 14 new original songs by the boys, including the hit title track and Craig's "Hell or High Water (I'll Go)", and features guest appearances by Sam Kenny on Tim's "Rustler's Lullaby", Keenan Foley from Bonzo Terks playing sax on Nate's song "Truck Stop Queen" and Steven Van Wyck playing banjo on several tracks.
... NEWS RELEASE - AUGUST 2012 ...
... JJHD FINALISTS IN 'GR'S GOT TALENT' ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns made it as a finalist in the 'GR's Got Talent' competition and performed at the Civic Theater along with 12 other acts. Congratulations to 'Bennett' for taking the top prize.
... NEWS RELEASE - JANUARY 2013 ...
... JJHD IN-STUDIO GUESTS ON WYCE ...
The boys dropped in on WYCE to play a couple songs and chat about their CD "Everything But the Squeal" and plans for their upcoming 2014 release.
... NEWS RELEASE - JULY 2012 ...
... 'LOCAL SPINS' RADIO INTERVIEW AND PERFORMANCE ...
The boys were invited downtown to be featured on John Sinkevics' popular 'Local Spins' radio broadcast. They chatted a bit about their influences and played 'Oh So Blue' for the listening audience. The feature was archived and can be listened to in its entirety at this link (as well as see a video of the boys performing their song).

... NEWS RELEASE - DECEMBER 2012 ...
... 'EVERYTHING BUT THE SQUEAL' JAMMIE NOMINATIONS ...
The Jukejoint crew is proud to announce that their debut CD 'Everything But the Squeal" has received 4 Jammie Nominations, including "Best Roots Album", "Best Song (Wings of Happenstance)", "Best New Artist" and the "Album of the Year".

... NEWS RELEASE - DECEMBER 2012 ...
... JJHD CREW ON 'THE GUEST LIST' ON WYCE ...
The boys were invited down to WYCE studios to share their musical playlists with the host of WYCE's "Guest List" program on Sunday night (December 30). We were pleased to be able to chat and share and feature some of our favorite local acts as well as our individual musical influences.

... NEWS RELEASE - JUNE 2012 ...
... CRAIG VAN OTTEREN JOINS THE JUKEJOINT HANDMEDOWNS ON MANDOLIN ...
Craig Van Otteren, the MC of the Quinn & Tuite's Friday Night Open Mic, and member of the group The Willeys has joined the Jukejoint Handmedown organization in his capacity as Mandolin and 3rd part vocal harmony. His first official show with the group will be at the Festival of the Arts in Grand Rapids.
... NEWS RELEASE - APRIL 2012 ...
... NEW CD RELEASE "EVERYTHING BUT THE SQUEAL" ...
The Jukejoint Handmedowns are excited to announce the release of their first CD of original songs. Entitled "Everything But the Squeal", this collection contains 16 original songs by Tim and Nate, including the hits "Oh So Blue", "I Don't Mind", "Easy Come Easy Go" and "Wings of Happenstance". Special guest appearance by Steven Van Wyck on banjo on several tracks. Available at our live shows, and additionally on CDBaby, iTunes, Amazon as well as other online brokers, and can also be purchased at our own Merchandise Shop while supplies last.

... NEWS RELEASE - APRIL 2011 ...
... PAUL HARRIS JOINS THE JUKEJOINT HANDMEDOWNS ON PEDAL STEEL GUITAR ...
Paul Harris, formally of the group 'Buffalo Cannon' has officially joined the Jukejoint Handmedowns on pedal steel guitar. The boys are pleased to welcome him into the organization and his first show with us will be at the Greenville EarthFest.